in praise of black people

A response to

CESURA//ACCESO PRESENTS:

FRED MOTEN W/ HANNAH BLACK + WILL HOLDER + SACHA KAHIR + FUMI OKIJI + PAT THOMAS + HYPATIA VOURLOUMIS

Cafe Oto, 12th June 2016

A cascade of words and praise for Fred Moten and other black people

or

I find Major Lazer quite horrible but I am desperate for a dirty beat

or

Grime came and went; in praise of black people

We gather

in praise of black people

We are too polite, this is too polite

or is it that I just feel like an outsider

or, are you all just outsiders?

I cannot listen to jazz

like this

I cannot listen to jazz

My uncle told me, that I would understand it

when I became older, got older

I will have no gurus

and the sound of American accents

is a scent, now

and you don’t smell like me

I am not a girl, I realise that

now

right now

I have never been

I am – naturally

as in

by necessity

a Fugitive Creature

Walk for me

Walk for me

Walk with me – I will leave soon, anyhow

What unites

us

is

a pulse

I am born again, and again in-between each beat

And still,

I am mistaken

for some other

black person in the shadows

Like an accusation.

